7 replies to this topic

#1 JohnnyMolly

JohnnyMolly

Not too shy to talk

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 18 September 2013 - 11:38 AM

Hi All -

I was wondering in anyone has any experience or thoughts on using any of the popular planted aquarium substrates in Molly tanks - especially on massive pH or kH swings. Fortunately, my tap water is extremely hard and alkaline (easy 8+ and 100+ any time of day), so I've been able to inject C02 into one of my tanks without tampering with water chemistry; but would love to try for that extra inch of plant growth. Any thoughts on whether a half pound (max) of Stratum, Controsoil or the likes would have a dramatic effect in a 50 gallon tank?

Thanks,
JohnnyMolly

#2 Whiskeysunday

Whiskeysunday

Not too shy to talk

• Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:28 PM

Hi JohnnyMolly,

I am no expert but I am in the middle of experiencing it. I too have very similar water chemistry. I have tried ADA's Amazonia substrate in two of my planted tanks: 55g and 3g. The 3 gallon tank is all Amazonia substrate which I believe is similar to Stratum. After adding about an inch and a half layer of Amazonia substrate my PH went down from 8 to about 6.5 and is holding there. Now on my 55 which is also a Molly tank I put roughly a half pound of the same substrate in a couple of spots. So far the water chemistry is holding about the same with the alkalinity going down slightly but nothing too dramatic as it did in the 3gallon. So in my ongoing experience the substrate your looking into like Stratum will lower PH and hardness but with a small amount in a 50 gallon not so much. What is your current substrate?

-WS

#3 JohnnyMolly

JohnnyMolly

Not too shy to talk

• Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 19 September 2013 - 01:25 PM

Thanks for the reply, WS.